Fede e Amor Fede e Amor

This recording explores some of the lesser-known music from eighteenth-century Vienna that combines solo voice with virtuoso trombones. During the first half of that ce ntury, the city’s musical life experienced an unprecedented blossoming. The Habsburg Emperors aimed to turn Vienna into a truly magnificent capital for the Holy Roman Empire and used visual art, architecture, liturgy, court ceremony and, above all, music to help achieve this. The Habsburg rulers Leopold I (1658-1705), Joseph I 1705-1711) and Charles VI (1711-1740) took the "Holy" part of their title very seriously and paid for a huge amount of el aborate sacred music to be performed on a regular basis by court musicians, a major element of which was the performance of large-scale Oratorios in the Imperial Chapel. Many of the arias presented on this CD are drawn from that repertoire. The music, much of it recorded here for the first time, is by established composers such as Caldara and Fux as well as lesser-known figures like Ziani, Porsile, Tuma and Casati. Alongside countertenor voice and trombones, the ensemble also includes bassoon, violins and continuo, thereby creating an attractive variation of colour and timbre throughout the recording. This is a disc which promises to surprise and delight as it brings to life unjustly neglected gems from a fascinating time.

Alex Potter  Countertenor soloist ALEX POTTER is a much sought-after interpreter of 17th- and 18th-century music, whose work takes him all over Europe. He has performed with conductors in- cluding Philippe Herreweghe, Thomas Hengelbrock, Lars Ulrik Mortensen, Jordi Savall, Frieder Bernius, Philippe Pierlot, Paul Goodwin, Peter Neumann, Roland Wilson, Rudolf Lutz and Stephan MacLeod. Alongside numerous performances of works by Bach, Handel and other established composers, he takes particular interest in seeking out and singing lesser-known repertoire for use in concerts and recordings under his own direction. After beginning his musical career as a chorister at Southwark Cathedral, Alex Potter was a Choral Scholar, and read Music at New College, Oxford. He went on to pursue further study in singing and baroque performance practice at the Schola Cantorum in Basel with Gerd Türk, taking additional classes with Evelyn Tubb. Amongst his discography are Heinrich Schütz's Schwanengesang with Philippe Herreweghe and Collegium Vocale Gent, and Handel's Joshua with Peter Neumann and the Cologne Chamber Choir. In addition, he has made two solo recordings - one of music by Johann Rosenmüller with Chelycus on the Ramée label, and another of motets by Jan Dismas Zelenka with Capriccio Barockorchester for Pan Classics.

Ensemble La Fontaine  The musicians of ENSEMBLE LA FONTAINE are all specialists in historical performance practice from Switzerland, and other European countries. Each is a busy international soloist, chamber musician and orchestral player, and some are lecturers as well. They assemble for intensive periods of rehearsal, recording and concerts. 'Back to the Sources' is their motto, and they orientate themselves on historical playing techniques, instrument choice and original texts, while recognising the limitations of historical knowledge. The fine and varied articulation of historical string instruments, combined with narrow-bored trombones and bassoon result in a lively and transparent group sound. The group focusses on music of the Baroque and Classical periods. The ensemble size can expand from chamber ensemble core, to enable performance as a chamber orchestra.

Catherine Motuz, Posaune
Simen Van Mechelen, Posaune
Carles Cristobal, Fagott
Regula Keller, Violine
Fanny Pestalozzi, Violine
Johannes Frisch, Viola
Reto Cuonz, Violoncello
Giuseppe Lo Sardo, Violone
Johannes Strobl, Orgel

1. Johann Joseph Fux (c. 1660-1741) Dal limbo già ti chiama
2. Marc Antonio Ziani (c. 1653-1715) Alma Redemptoris Mater  
3. Johann Joseph Fux  
Sonata a 3  (E 68)
4. Antonio Caldara (1670-1736) Così a fiume  
5. Johann Joseph Fux   Sonata a 3. 2 Violini e Trombone  (K 365)  
6. Ignazio Maria Conti (1699-1759)    
Se potesse la mia mente
7. František Ignác Tůma    Sonata a 2 violini e 2 Tromboni  
8. Antonio Caldara      Languire, morire  
9. Johann Joseph Fux   
Sonata a 3  (K 379)
10. Giuseppe Porsile (1680-1750)   La sovrana eterna mente  
11. Pietro Casati (1684-1745)     Salve Regina  
12. Francesco Bartolomeo Conti (c. 1681-1732) Fuggo d'una in altra selva