Portus Felicitatis Portus Felicitatis

Today almost entirely forgotten, Reutter has b een the most successful composer of opera in Vienna during the 1730s, and the single and most influential composer of church music in Vienna for three decades, enjoying the estimation of both Charles VI and Maria Theresia. The son of a court organist and music director at St. Stephen’s Cathedral, Reutter studied with Antonio Caldara and, having returned from a period of study in Italy, was nominated imperial court composer in Vienna in 1730. He became first director of music at St. Stephen’s in 1738, second Hofkapellmeister in 1747 and first Hofkapellmeister in 1769. His influential position in the musical life of Vienna led to conflicts with Durazzo and Gluck which escalated in 1761. Reutter is one of the few composers who composed for the Pantaleon (salterio). As Caldara had done before him, Reutter used the pantaleon as an obbligato instrument in several arias of his operas and oratorios. Our programme features four arias for obligato salterio. With this CD La Gioia Armonica will continue the endeavours of its first CD for RAMÉE, dedicated to original compositions for the pantaleon by Antonio Caldara (RAM 0405

Alex Potter  MONIKA MAUCH studied with Richard Wistreich in Trossingen, and Jill Feldman in Paris, and has performed with the Ricercar Consort (Philippe Pierlot), La Fenice (Jean Tubéry), Ordo Virtutum (Stefan Morent), the Taverner Consort (Andrew Parrott) and Red Byrd. She has recorded works from the Altbachisches Archiv and Bach's Mass in B-minor with Cantus Cölln, and performed and recorded with La Capella Ducale and Musica Fiata (Roland Wilson), Weser-Renaissance (Manfred Cordes), and Collegium Vocale Gent (Philippe Herreweghe). Monika has also worked with Concerto Palatino, the ensemble directed by Bruce Dickey and Charles Toet, and recorded the much-acclaimed CD Morimur with the Hilliard Ensemble. Other groups with which she has worked include Ensemble Daedalus (Roberto Festa), CordArte Ensemble Köln, Ensemble Caprice (Matthias Maute), Montréal Baroque, Les Cornets Noirs, and Private Musicke. Monika has performed various concert programmes with lutenist Nigel North, a collaboration which led to a recording in ECM New Series of Robert Dowland's Musical Banquet.

Alex Potter  STANISLAVA JIRKU studied voice at the Conservatory in Teplice with Jitka Slavícková, and at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague with Ivan Kusnjer. She has also attended international interpretation courses with Gabriela Benacková (operas and oratorios) and Peter Mikuláš (songs). In 2000 and 2002 she received a scholarship for the International Sommerakademie Prag-Wien-Budapest in Austria, where she performed at several concerts under the artistic guidance of Prof. Ralf Döring. Since the 2005/2006 season she has been a soloist with the National Theatre Opera, performing as Händel's Goffredo (Rinaldo), Mozart's Second Lady (Die Zauberflöte), Dorabella (Cosi fan tutte) and Cherubino (Le Nozze di Figaro), among others. She has also regularly sung at concerts across Europe, including in Spain, Germany, the Netherlands, France and the UK. In 2007 she also recorded a song cycle by the Czech composer Miroslav Kubicka. In May 2011, she sang Ludmila in a concert recording of Smetana's The Bartered Bride with the BBC Orchestra and conductor Jirí Belohlávek in London. Her repertoire is very extensive, ranging from Baroque to contemporary music, and from songs and oratorios to operas.

  The ensemble LA GIOIA ARMONICA was founded by Austrian dulcimer-player Margit Übellacker and German organist and singer Jürgen Banholzer. One of the ensemble's objectives is to explore the baroque repertoire for dulcimer, in particular in connection with the legendary pantaleon. The size of the group varies from dulcimer-organ duet to large chamber-music settings. Th e musicians are all specialised in historically-informed performance practices, and combine broad experience drawn from their involvement in various international ensembles. La Gioia Armonica's debut CD – Cantate, Sonate ed Arie, dedicated to music of Antonio Caldara – was also released by Ramée, and gained various awards, among which the Pizzicato Supersonic Award, Goldberg 5 Stars, and the Prelude Classical Award 2006 for best debut CD. Since then, the ensemble has been invited to perform in Germany and abroad, including at the Halle Händelfestspiele, the Dordrecht Bach Festival, the Middle-Germany Heinrich Schütz Days, the Bottrop Organ Plus Festival, and the Bad Homburg Fugato organ festival.

Meret Lüthi, violin
Sabine Stoffer, violin
Lucile Chionchini, viola
Felix Knecht, cello
Armin Bereuter, violone
Margit Übellacker, dulcimer
Michael Freimuth, archluthe, theorbo
Jürgen Banholzer, organ, direction

1. Aria Venga l'età vetusta
(from the Festa di camera per musica La magnanimità di Alessandro, 1729)
2. Mottetto de ominibus Sanctis Justorum animae in manu Dei sunt (1732)  
3. Pizzicato  
4. Aria Dura legge a chi t'adora  
(from the Festa teatrale Archidamia, 1727)
5. Allegro  
6. Mottetto de quovis Sancto vel Sancta Hodie in ecclesia sanctorum (1753?)  
7. Mottetto de Sancto Wenceslau Wenceslaum Sanctissimum (1752?)  
8. Aria Del pari infeconda  
(from the Azione sacra La Betulia liberata, 1734)
9. Mottetto de Resurrectione Domini Surrexit Pastor bonus (1748?)  
10. Mottetto de Sanctissima Trinitate Deus Pater paraclytus (1744?)  
11. Aria Soletto al mio caro  
(from the Dramma per musica Alcide trasformato in dio, 1729)