Le Parler et le Silence Le Parler et le Silence

This recording is the sequel to The Attaignant Consort’s first disc – Madame d’amours (RAM 0706) – and the third and last ina series of three recordings presenting the art of the Renaissance flute, both as solo instrument (RAM 1201) and as a consort instrument from the late fifteenth century until the middle of the seventeenth. This disc places the accent on the musical transition of the seventeenth century, and shows how the consort of flutes adapted to the new styles of composition, which pushed it to the very limits of its possibilities. This recording illustrates the repertory for flute consort from its beginnings, including examples of the first instrumental fantasias, of airs de cour in four voices, a suite of English songs, bicinia, and finally French airs enriched with Baroque ornaments from the early eighteenth century.

   The ATTAIGNANT CONSORT was co-founded in 1998 by Kate Clark, Frédérique Chauvet, Marion Moonen and Marcello Gatti. Mathieu Langlois joined the ensemble in 2008. Drawn together by a fascination with the renaissance flute, they have collaborated over many years with the Italian flute-maker Giovanni Tardino, exploring the sound world of this, until now, little-known instrument. The ensemble's work has been greatly enriched by their long-standing collaboration with distinguished English lutenist Nigel North, begun in 2007. Each of the musicians in the Attaignant Consort has a multi-facetted musical career independent of the Consort: above all performers, their combined portfolios comprise outstanding achievements in the fields of teaching, conducting, ensemble direction, editing, writing and musicology. They come together for performances as the Attaignant Consort, sharing a deep love of the poetry and music of the Renaissance and early baroque. The Attaignant Consort works from facsimile editions of original part-books rather than scores, and performs as often as possible from memory, mindful of the aural tradition of learning in which many sixteenth-century instrumentalists were educated. The ensemble not only performs written diminutions from the period, but also those composed specially for it by Kate Clark. The ensemble's first CD Madame d'amours was released on the Ramee label, to broad critical acclaim, in October 2007.

Marcello Gatti, Kate Clark, Frédérique Chauvet, Mathieu Langlois, Renaissance and baroque flutes
Nigel North, lute

1. Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1526-1594) / Giovanni Bassano (c. 1558-1617) Pulchra es amica mea
2. Giovanni Bassano Fantasia  
3. Luzzasco Luzzaschi (c. 1545-1607)
Canzon decima
4. The Knight of the Lute Fantasie  
5. Gioseffo Guami (1542-1611) Canzon settimadecima  
6. Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583-1643)
Fantasia seconda
7. Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck (1562-1621) L'enfant Amour  
8. Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck Yeux qui guidez mon ame  
9. Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
Psalm 9
10. Francis Pilkington (1565-1638) My choice is made  
11. Thomas Morley (1557-1602) Fantasia La Tortorella  
12. John Dowland (1563-1626) Galliard (Sleep wayward thoughts)  
13. Thomas Lupo (1571-1627) Fantasia  
14. Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625) Fantasia  
15. Robert Ballard (1575-c. 1650) Première entrée  
16. Charles Tessier (1550-c. 1610) Si le penser de mon ame  
17. Antoine Boësset (1587-1643) Si c'est un crime que l'aymer  
18. Pierre Guédron (c. 1563-c. 1621) Esprits qui soupirez  
19. Pierre Guédron O destin par trop rigoureux  
20. Pierre Guédron Si le parler et le silence  
21. Robert de Visée (c. 1655-c. 1732/33) Chaconne des Harlequins de Mr Lully  
22. Michel Lambert (1610-1696) Ritournelle de Ma bergère  
23. Antoine Boësset / Jacques-Martin Hotteterre (1674-1763) Si c'est un crime que l'aymer  
24. Michel Lambert (1610-1696) Ritournelle de L'amour, le seul amour  
25. Robert de Visée Prélude  
26. Robert de Visée Chaconne  
27. Jacques-Martin Hotteterre Fanfare à trois flutes  
28. Jacques-Martin Hotteterre Brunette en trio L'amant le plus fidelle  
29. Jacques-Martin Hotteterre Air anglois à trois flutes  
Joseph Bodin de Boismortier (1689-1755)    
30.-33. Sonata No 1 in G minor Adagio