Johann ROSENMÜLLER, Vox dilecti mei Johann Rosenmüller, Vox dilecti mei

Johann Rosenmüller is no longer an unknown entity in today's musical life. During the last 20 years his beautiful and elegant works have found many admirers, and have made a place for themselves in concert programmes and recordings. Despite this, however, he remains one of the most mysterious of figures in the history of baroque music: a master of the first rank, yet without a biography. The influence of his music, particularly in the Germanic lands, was as great in its time as our knowledge of his life is small now. The present recording contains works chiefly from Rosenmüller's 25-year-long Venetian period. During this time he developed in both his vocal and instrumental works a varied yet distinctive style, the elements of which are displayed in the chosen pieces. Alex Potter and ensemble Chelycus present with this world premiere recording a rich and inspired interpretation of these master works.

Chelycus  Ensemble CHELYCUS is dedicated to music from the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries. The ensemble’s setting is built upon carefully edited scores, while their historic instrumentarium – including original organs, baroque violins, dulcian, baroque trombone and lute – gives the musicians a means of expression through which they can establish a bond with the past. The members of the group – like the themes of the music they play – are in counterpoint, each against the other. Founded in 1999 on an international footing, Chelycus take their audience into a musical world little known today, one which surprises, touches and immediately appeals. Having partaken in several important festivals (Trigonale, Rencontres Musicales de la Vallée, Rencontres Musicales de Vézelay, Baselbieter Konzerte), Chelycus enjoys international renown.

Veronika Skuplik, Bjarte Eike, violins
Klaus Bona, Cosimo Stawiarski, violas
Matthias Müller, violone
Robert Schlegl, Adam Bregman, Wim Becu, trombones
Adrian Rovatkay, dulcian
Andreas Arend, chitarrone
Michael Fuerst, organ and cembalino

Nicole van Bruggen   After beginning his musical career as a chorister at Southwark, ALEX POTTER was a Choral Scholar and read Music at New College, Oxford. He then went on to pursue further study in singing and baroque performance practice at the Schola Cantorum in Basel with Gerd Türk, taking additional classes with Evelyn Tubb. Since finishing his studies, Alex has continued his focus on seventeenth- and eighteenth-century music, working with conductors such as Philippe Herreweghe, Thomas Hengelbrock, Roland Wilson, Peter Neumann and Frieder Bernius. Recent performances of note include Bach’s St. Matthew Passion with the Netherlands Bach Society (Lark-Ulrik Mortensen), Handel's Theodora at the Tage Alter Musik in Herne with Chorus Musicus Köln (Christoph Spering), an open-air staged production of Alexander’s Feast for Theater Basel and a solo recital with Purcell works in Guebwiller (Alsace) as part of the Stimmen Festival. His discography includes Handel’s Joshua with Kölner Kammerchor (Peter Neumann), Schütz’s Schwanengesang with Collegium Vocale Gent (Philippe Herreweghe) and Bach's Missae Brevae with Orlando Fribourg and La Cetra (Laurent Gendre).

1. O Salvator dilectissime
2. Sonata XII
3. Christum ducem qui per crucem
4. In te Domine speravi
5. Sonata III
6. O dives omnium bonarum
7. Vox dilecti mei
8. Sonate a doi Violini
9. O anima mea suspira ardenter