Georg Friedrich HÄNDEL, Suites de Pieces Pour le Clavecin Suites de Pieces Pour le Clavecin

Handel has the reputation of a free thinker regarding the composition of his suites. His keyboard works combine a formal freedom with a rhetorical mastery in a way that undoubtedly reflects his improvisatory gifts, for which he was famous. The music in these pieces is very lively in its invention, and exhibits an enthusiasm in allying the structure with very different styles. The large-scale works of 1720, all completely different from one another, are a synthesis inspired by elements of the German and Italian styles. He seems to have had little interest in the form of the suite per se. Formal unity is most often achieved through common thematic use. The diverse origins of the music make the collection of suites a microcosm of Handel’s eclectic style. Following his highly acclaimed recording of the Johann Mattheson harpsichord suites, Cristiano Holtz presents a splendid interpretation of the Handel suites.

Cristiano Holtz   CRISTIANO HOLTZ was born in Brazil. Inspired by the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, he began to study the harpsichord at the age of twelve with Pedro Persone. In 1987 he continued his musical studies in The Netherlands, staying for ten years and studying with several teachers, including Jacques Ogg and Gustav Leonhardt. He also attended masterclasses with Miklós Spányi (clavichord) and Pierre Hantaď (harpsichord). Cristiano performs chiefly as a soloist, both on harpsichord and clavichord, as well as occasionally on historical organs in Europe, Asia and South America. He has also appeared at several prestigious international festivals. In 1995 he won an award in the Eldorado competition, Sao Paulo. His recording of the Johann Mattheson harpsichord suites (Ramée) has been highly acclaimed in the press, and received several awards, including the »Vierteljahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik". Since 1998 Cristiano has been professor of harpsichord at the Gregorian Institute of Lisbon.

Suite Huitieme F minor HWV 433
1. Prelud
2. Allegro  
3. Allemande  
4. Courante  
5. Gique  
6. Air B major HWV 471
Suite Troisieme D minor HWV 428
7. Prelude  
8. Allegro
9. Allemande  
10. Courante  
11. Air
12. Presto  

13. MINUET G minor HWV 434

Suite V E minor HWV 438
14. Allemand  
15. Saraband
16. Jigg HWV 438/3b  
17. Sonatina G major HWV 582
Suite Septieme G minor HWV 432
18. Ouverture
19. Andante  
20. Allegro  
21. Sarabande  
22. Gique  
23. Passacaille